Taking a Look at Depression [#Infographic] – It’s not Just a Word

Hey there lovely’s! Like a lot of you out there, I have lived with depression since I was young, and don’t mind talking about it because I think creating more of an awareness of depression is not only good for me, but for other sufferers as well, while it also helps for non sufferers to gain more of an awareness of it and to realize that it’s not just a word, like a lot of people that don’t understand it, might think.

I have a huge love for people, and enjoy building new friendships, but like a lot of depression sufferers I have my ‘down days’ – days where I feel very alone, lost and just simply unhappy with myself. But knowing I think that way, and have those thoughts,  I then think to myself and realize that they are all just simply nothing more than negative words and once you start thinking in a negative way, it all kind of spirals out of control with one negative thought leading to another..not a good or happy state to be in 😦 .

The way I like to get by on my ‘down days’ is by keeping myself busy, and with so many amazing social media platforms out there, there are tonnes of ways to take your mind off your problems,  and if you follow me on twitter, you’ ll see that I love interacting with others and enjoy retweeting all kinds of fun and interesting tweets, – not only does it stop me from thinking negative thoughts, I find it an awesome platform for meeting some really interesting people, while learning tonnes of new stuff. Social Media really is amazing!  🙂 .

Here is an infographic I have found that gives a bit of an insight into depression:


Hope you’ve enjoyed my post, and if you are like me and are dealing or coping with depression, remember – negative thoughts or feelings are nothing more than negative words…and YOU have the power to stop them! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Taking a Look at Depression [#Infographic] – It’s not Just a Word

  1. I actually agree with you completely on this. Counseling was the one thing that played a key role in my own journey to recovery. I learned that my mind is waaaay more powerful than I thought possible. For me, over time the depression seemed to lessen and then almost completely disappear! It’s so freeing to know that there is life after depression. I think you are right about helping others by being open about depression. Even people I used to associate with had derogatory things to say about depression that would make one suffering keep things inside and let it worsen. Thank you for sharing!

  2. A very thoughtful and helpful post– many thanks for sharing. I certainly have my down days, and am familiar with all the symptoms you mention. Good to see depression openly acknowledged as a problem– nothing ever gets solved if we deny a problem’s existence. Hang in there, thanks for a courageous post. : )

I would love to hear your thoughts :)

