So, You Want to Start Social Networking? – Relax, it’s Really Not that Scary :)

socialmedia.images

Social media…it’s everywhere you go, and almost all businesses are onto it. But just where do you start, when you have absolutely no idea of what social media is, and how do you get your business and word listened to, and not lost amongst the noise of all other businesses on social media?

It really can be quite confusing when your first starting out in social media, not knowing what social media platform is best for your business, and not knowing much about social media. Rest assured that you are not the only one, and although social media is getting more and more popular, there are still a great deal of people out there that simply haven’t used social media because they have become so accustomed to various other ways of marketing, whether it be word of mouth, phone advertising, paper marketing, – what ever, – technology and social media can almost almost seem like a foreign language. There’s good news though –  if you are thinking of marketing your business through social media, there are tonnes of companies and bloggers, just like me offering free advice and tips to get you and your business online. And, if you are not sure of something…’Google’ it – Google has the answers!  I Google just about everything I am not sure of, it’s a really handy search engine. Mind you, there are tonnes of other search engines out there, but I find that I’m happy with Google…its what ever rocks your boat, really.

Start by doing some research, and finding yourself a social media mentor that you can relate to, or simply just enjoy reading their blog, and follow them on your chosen social media network, converse with them, establishing a relationship and you will find that they will be more than happy to help you out with some advice.. – they all were once in your shoes and had start somewhere too.

Be patient with yourself, though…establishing relationships and businesses online can take time, it takes perseverance, persistence and a good solid social media marketing plan in place, and once you have built a good strong presence across the internet with your business or blog, you will start to see results in next to no time…the key is to be patient, focusing not on yourself and your business but on building relationships with others. Social networking really doesn’t have to seem to scary…as long as you have access to the internet, it can be done anywhere at anytime…and it’s loads of fun…heck, you might even find yourself getting addicted to it!!

If you’re still unsure of what social media is, and what each individual platform does, stay tuned…I will be covering just what each of the top ranked social networking sites do in detail, in my coming posts.

Thank you so much for reading, and I hope you’ve enjoyed this post. I would love to hear your thoughts…and even if you don’t agree with me, I would love to hear from you, because after all, we learn from our mistakes! 

2 thoughts on “So, You Want to Start Social Networking? – Relax, it’s Really Not that Scary :)

  1. Thank you so much for your words of encouragement! Sometimes I wonder if I’m spending too much time with social networking, but I think it is more time-consuming NOW because I’m still getting my feet wet. Hopefully, it will become easier going forward!

    • Thank you so much for reading my post. Yes I think we can sometimes get ourselves so hung up worrying about what to write, how long the post is, and if the post WILL actually be read, that we loose sight of the big picture, – which for me is to become a great social media influencer and teacher, as I think social media is so awesome. And yes, I think with plenty of practice and time our blogs will become better and better…just like in a new job, you have to work your way up to the top, same goes for me and anyone who hopes to become a great influencer and inspire others to do the same…We all have to put a bit of sweat and tears and effort into getting to the top..Do you agree?? 🙂

I would love to hear your thoughts :)

