How To Say No To People Who Want To Pick Your Brain

I have recently discovered Marie Forleo…She is what most of us would really want to be – an inspirational leader and motivator, teaching us just how to live our dreams and follow our heart, and she has her very own T.V show…how awesome!!

In this episode, she talks about how to deal with people that want to pick your brain and ask you a tonne of questions about your business.

She gives you 3 scripts you can use to find out what the ‘asker’ really wants from you…

Script No. 1 – The Spice Girls Script

“My work schedule is full, so coffee is not doable these days. Are you interested in becoming a client, or do you just have a quick question?”

Script No. 2 – Pay Me Mothahumpa!

“I’m not available for lunch, but you should really consider getting my (phone number/email). It’s all of my best thinking in one place, and I created it to help people in your exact situation.”

Script No. 3 – Blame it on Mama

“I have a rule, if I don’t have time to see my mother, I don’t have time to meet new people for coffee. And right now I owe my mama a visit. But seriously, I’m sure we’d have a blast and I hope you’re not insulted, but my work schedule is packed and I’ve gotta pass”

– Now it’s totally up to you if you use or follow these scripts…personally, I don’t fully agree with script No.3, because I love meeting new people. But that’s just my thing.

….So the bottom line is this, at the end of the day if you are in business and you want people to value you your time, YOU have to put a value on it..

“If they want to pick your brain, ask them to pick a time and a method of payment”

Now it’s over to you….Do you agree with these scripts, yourself? I would love to hear you thoughts. Thank you so very much for stopping by for the read…love and hugs always…Katrina 🙂 xx

I would love to hear your thoughts :)

